N/A 4v build

fs308

4v noob
Established Member
if you were going to build a wild pump gas 281ci 4v how would you do it? im new to the 4v world and trying to see some of the engine combo's. try and keep it to the 281 base combo's. no big bore or stroker combo's. also post some of the gearing this combo would be optimal with and what you think it would run in the 1/4.

or if you have a nice running combo list your mods and race weight

Un4GivN

QuenchMyThirstw/Gasoline
Established Member
if you were going to build a wild pump gas 281ci 4v how would you do it? im new to the 4v world and trying to see some of the engine combo's. try and keep it to the 281 base combo's. no big bore or stroker combo's. also post some of the gearing this combo would be optimal with and what you think it would run in the 1/4.

You may not like what I have to say, but.. I would not even think about building an N/A 281. Why? Because for half the money, I could boost it and be faster. If there's no option to go bb, stroker, or both, I don't see the sense in building an N/A setup unless it's for some drag racing bracket that wont allow it.

notchstang92

Spoolin'
Established Member

Its not worth the money you would have to spend. You could do ported heads/intake and cams. Longtubes and full exhaust. Run maybe 4,30's or 4.56's depending on where you powerband is. Tuning and even higher compression if pump gas could support it. In the end you would be lucky to hit 400 rwhp and you would still be behind all the stock cobras w/ prochargers, vortechs and eatons. The big bore would be the way to go if you want n/a power, but its certainly not cheap. Unless you are going to be running a certain class that has specific rules its really not worth the money.

There are a couple guys on here knowledgeable for n/a mod motors. One is Nazman, but he has been a ghost as of late. The other is n/a svt. I'm sure either one of them can give you more than you need to know.

Chris _Scott

NA FTW