• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

It's here, How-to for installation of Speedhut Gauges and SOS Pod with pics

Discussion in 'How-To' started by Jomo1994z71, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    That`s nice.
    I just used a small peice of wire and taped it to the guage,long ways,not around the guage.Then it`ll kind of wedge in there,but not to tight that you can`t adjust the guage.
     
  2. slitherin' 03

    slitherin' 03 Banned

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Pipersville, PA
    right on....i was thinking of wrapping one pass of electrical tape around the threaded area of the gauge. But now that I think about it, it's prob a bad idea cause you know how slimy that stuff gets when it gets old in addition to the hellacious temps get inside the car....that stuff turns to gew. prob use ur method. Thanks man! :beer:

    I cant wait to get these suckers in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh yeah....03cobra694....how did you mount your light to the SOS pod? I have the same light. Also, I just talked to Aaron at SH and he told me to mail back the light cause they have a new plastic cover to go over the LED. He will install free of charge. Those guys are great over there. Holy long post.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  3. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    I used the Raptor Claw from SOS.
    Your welcome for the help.This is what this site is all about.Thank Jomo,he actually did the write-up.I only gave feed back,cause I did this before he did.We had a riot w/pm`s and phone calls doing this.Cheers to Joe for this "How To":beer:
     
  4. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    I think we had about 100 pms and about 15 phone calls...but we go her done...gotta love my coolant gauge...I don't go WOT until it's up to 185 degrees, and I get easier on her when she creeps up to about 210...It's amazing to see how hot these cars get when idling...my temps can drop about 20 degrees when cruising versus when stoped even with my fan settings turned adjusted in the tune...BTW, brad, when do our cars go into limp mode?
     
  5. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    :shrug:
    Changing the fan settings made a big difference,you can really tell w/the Speedhut guage vs. the stocker.No real way to see the temps rise w/the factory guage.
    236* is what i just found.Not sure if it`s correct.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  6. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    Sounds about right Brad...I know that Largreorangefont has answered this question before but I forgot ...
     
  7. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    This came up in another thread about how acurate the SH guage is,so I took my x-cal3 to compare them.Damn close.BTW,my sending unit is in the block.
    008-4.jpg
    009-3.jpg
    010-3.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  8. c6zhombre

    c6zhombre E85 NutSwinger Established Member

    Messages:
    5,006
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    League City, TX
    I've got a dashdaq2 in cabin monitor that plugs to the obd port. my sh fuel pressure guage mirrors the dashdaq fpsi readout, weather idling or driving. i think the speedhut gauge is spot on and I'm very pleased with the purchase. and thats not even counting how cool they look :thumbsup:
     
  9. BLK03SVT

    BLK03SVT Mike Established Member

    Messages:
    502
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Thanks for the thread- it made my install pretty straightforward and easy. Much appreciated!!
     
  10. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    You are welcome...this is why Brad and I did it...glad to see that is has helped so many others:beer:
     
  11. lxlawWFO

    lxlawWFO Terminator LOVER!!! Established Member

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    Odem, TX
    Man to put that coolant sensor in, I bet you can have the sending unit ready, pull the plug, and hold it with you finger (cool of course), and put the new sending unit in and maybe spill a few drops. I have done it to several tranny temp sending units. Hell with draining everything. Very nice setup. I am really considering getting that. The boost, Wideband, and fuel pressure. I may get the coolant also. Run two on the pillar and two on the dash.
     
  12. Yaadman_GT

    Yaadman_GT Yaadman_GT Established Member

    Messages:
    591
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    This is definitely a money install!!!
     
  13. 99lightning_svt

    99lightning_svt Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,251
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth TX
    I dont have that bolt on the side of the bolt i have a teskid block i believe where can i put the sender?
     
  14. ATFPat

    ATFPat Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,264
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    Souderton, PA
    SO i m taping into the boost line where the glove box is for the boost/vac gauge? Is it out to hook up to the line that connects to the back of the cluster?
     
  15. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Did you mean OK?If so,yes leave the stock gauge hooked up.
     
  16. SVTDom

    SVTDom cheetah on cocaine Established Member

    Messages:
    1,718
    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    i love the guages..!!...what did you pic the green glow background??
     
  17. GTCobraClone

    GTCobraClone Member Established Member

    Messages:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    I have a question, I have an AEM wideband, could I wire the widebands red wire with the rest of the speedhut wires to give the wideband power?
     
  18. svt2ner

    svt2ner New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone ever feel like those pods are going to break off? Feels like after a matter of time between extreme heat it will break if you touch it wrong. Maybe just me but I like the gauge pod, but it seems like a flimsy setup to me.
     
  19. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,394
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    I`d run it seperate.I`d think the w/b would draw a little more due to having to heat up the sensor.Make sure you run the grounds seperate too.
     
  20. GTCobraClone

    GTCobraClone Member Established Member

    Messages:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Were or what would be a good place to get the power from?
     

Share This Page