• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

It's here, How-to for installation of Speedhut Gauges and SOS Pod with pics

Discussion in 'How-To' started by Jomo1994z71, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    If you want you can "splice" into the bigger wires and just run the one down,or extend the smaller wires and run them down.I`m going to take mine apart and run the small wires down so I can hook-up a dimmer to the needles.Just a little to bright at night.
    116.gif
    120.gif
    119.gif
     
  2. 03auto

    03auto New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    tn
    Is the small wire for the needle, I was thinking the large wire was for the needle
     
  3. BlownShelby10

    BlownShelby10 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    hey i tried to find samilar gauges with the svt in the gauge but couldnt find any...anyone with a link to gauges like that?
     
  4. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    No,the larger is the needle.
     
  5. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
  6. ChaosTheory

    ChaosTheory Banned

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    I ran mine under the dash and used connections down there, and didn't have to remove the seat...:shrug:
     
  7. black 10th vert

    black 10th vert Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,134
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    MA
    All of the connections to the fuse block are obviously made there, but to actually snake the harnesses down, it is easier if you have access in the middle of the dash - especially getting the plugs through the area near the pillar. If working under the dash, and weighing more than 100 lbs. - it is a big advantage to remove the seat!
     
  8. c6zhombre

    c6zhombre E85 NutSwinger Established Member

    Messages:
    5,015
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    League City, TX
    I just got mine complete. Does this look like proper function of the w/b? it kind of floats between 14.0 and 14.8 at idle.

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQXOwwl2Jwc]YouTube - speedhut gauges '04 cobra[/ame]

    It goes about a flat 11.25 in 3rd and 4th wot to redline. With a dynojet tail pipe sniffer it stayed about 11.9 to 12.0 to red
     
  9. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Looks like it`s working fine to me.I always turn the key on and let the sensor heat up.It will cycle up to 18 then come back down to 14.7 when it heats up.Then i`ll start the car and it`ll go a little rich and then settle back in around 14.5-15.What kind of w/b controller you running and where is your O2 sensor in the exhaust system?
     
  10. c6zhombre

    c6zhombre E85 NutSwinger Established Member

    Messages:
    5,015
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    League City, TX

    it's the innovate lc-1. we have the bung welded in just upstream of the cats along the section of the xpipe leading towards the manifold connection and rotated like in the 2 oclock position to keep from having any moisture possibly accumulate in it (per the instructions)

    where has everyone mounted the lc-1 controller itself? the instructions said somewhere under the car...we mounted it in the engine bay on the back firewall. I've driven it a few days, so far so good. :shrug:
     
  11. z28th1s

    z28th1s The 5.0 is Back!!! Established Member

    Messages:
    3,932
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Subscribing :read:

    Nice write-up :thumbsup:
     
  12. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    I running the DJWBC and mounted mine ine the glovebox w/velcro.
    004-2.gif
     
  13. 03auto

    03auto New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    tn
    Is it ok to shorten the vacum line SH sends with the gauge? Trying to make sure to get all the kinks out of it. Also the wires want to lay in the pod where the piece of the apilar goes in. How did you all run the wires in the pod with out them sitting in that channel?
     
  14. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    I don`t see why you couldn`t shorten it.The wires are a PITA,just trail and error getting them to lay in there correct.Just make sure they are out of the way of the mounting clips.
     
  15. 03auto

    03auto New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    tn
    Did you lay yours in the channel where that the metal piece lays in?
    Also where did you exit the car with the temp. wire.
     
  16. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Yes.
    I took mine out through the shifter,along w/the W/B wires.Joe has a pic of this on the 1st page of the thread.
     
  17. 03auto

    03auto New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    tn
    Is the temp. wire long enough taking it out through the shifter. Also have not been able to find any heat wrap locally. Is there any thing else to use on the wire to keep heat off of it?
     
  18. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,486
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  19. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    There is plenty of slack to run the temp input cable through the shifter boot area to the block...just protect it...my advice...look at the wires/cables that are underneath the car to begin with, and run them accordingly plus protect them similar...
     
  20. slitherin' 03

    slitherin' 03 Banned

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    Pipersville, PA

Share This Page