Removing the Stock Lower Pulley

95PGTTech

Established Member
Depending on what else you are doing, you can remove the radiator and you'll have enough room for an impact gun. I was a SVT certified tech so they supplied an allen key big enough for that for my 1/2" gun and one for the Lightning, as well as some other "specialty" tools specific to the SVT vehicles. It looks to be your average 14mm allen socket.

lowflyn

Found my 03sbvert...
Established Member
I used the jack handle, bfh method. Car in gear, put the end of the handle on one of the arms and pop it downward (make sure you are going in the right direction) and off it comes.

brian97cobra

The Infractionator
Established Member
After taking on many projects because of the wonderful write ups found on this site by fellow owners that love their cars, here’s my contribution.

This is a dedicated to all those that have found themselves faced with the seemly impossible task of “Removing the stock Lower Pulley.” I'm a visual learner so I put up plenty of pictures of almost everything I did.

***The FULL Metco instructions are at the end***

What’s needed:

1 - Hex tool - (Comes with Metco Lower Pulley Kit)
1 - 19mm Socket
1 - 18 inch / 1/2 inch breaker bar
1 - Jack
2 - Jack stands
IMG_0714.gif

PREFACE
First, before I get into it, I want to give some background information on what the Lower Pulley actually looks like. This will prove helpful for those of us who never saw a stock lower off the car.

The stock lower isn’t just a ring. It is a full cage with a ring affixed to it. This ENTIRE thing is one piece and comes off as one piece.
IMG_0650.gif

IMG_0649.gif

IMG_0658.gif

IMG_0653.gif

On the back of the pulley is a nice size screw/threaded hub that actually screws into the crank balancer.
IMG_0654.gif

IMG_0657.gif

IMG_0656.gif

IMG_0655.gif

In the center of the front of the lower pulley/cage is a hex hole.
IMG_0659.gif