Order GT350R wheels ?

Established Member
Since the biggest driving improvement of an R comes from the light wide rims, anyone know if they are available for order and how much $$? :rolling:

13COBRA

Resident Ford Dealer
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
^ +1

About $20k a set over the parts counter. The spoiler is about $10k cost with a retail of $11,795.

5 DOT 0

Established Member
The wheels are $10K a set not $20 but I'm not sure you can get them yet. Production capacity has been the issue. A company called Need 4 Speed Motorsports is making replica flow formed wheels in the same fitment at a target weight of 24 lbs for $1,650 + shipping. I'll let Tob post a link if he wants.

22578741238_e5452c3683_b.jpg

needspeed

Interested Party
Established Member
Let's say the R wheels were only 5K, so affordable. The concern I would have is that the mag ride suspension is tuned to many parameters including the tire and wheels mass. So I am no engineer, but I wonder what the impact would be putting these on a non R tuned suspension??????

All due respect........Steve

JAJ

Rapidly Losing Interest
Established Member
There was a story a while back about the R chassis suspension electronics. It talked about the special road-damage protection programming for the MHD shocks that would release them to move faster if the CF rim was in danger of damage from a hard impact between the tire and the road, like a pothole or a curb. They didn't say whether the non-R cars have it or not. Of course we have no way to know whether this is a big risk or a small one, and whether they put the same software in both cars. I'd have to say it's probably a different calibration - the PSC2 tires generate about 10% more grip than the PSS's so the DSC and ABS calibration would have to be adjusted accordingly.

ON D BIT

Finish First
Established Member