• No, you need to be at the 11.5-11.8 range regardless

Votes: 21 65.6%
  • Doesnt matter, as long as the power is there

Votes: 1 3.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

j2schill

Established Member
I was just wondering what the point of view of experienced tuners is on A/F ratio with 12.0. I just had my car tuned and it made good numbers (470 hp w 460 tq) but the A/F curve was at or just above the 12.0 mark...I dont want to hurt the motor, but the guy that tuned it is reputable in the cobra tuning community.:??:

Montanasvt

Established Member
I am no expert, but from what I've read, you won't pick up much more power from leaning it out that much, you get more power from timing... I would say drop your a/f down a notch... at most you will lose 5hp?(someone care to verify)... i'd rather be safe than sorry...on the other hand, every car is different, but I would stick with the norm...

blkGT500nCA

Established Member
Was he using a tail pipe sniffer, or was he measuring the A/F through a welded in bung in the exhaust BEFORE the cats? If it was a tail pipe sniffer you might be ok. Your best bet is to install your own wideband A/F gauge and measure it yourself. 12/1 is a little leaner that I'd want to go on a boosted engine.

Edit: maybe you can add 2-4% more fuel yourself with your handheld tuner. You'll maybe lose 5-10HP.

Last edited:

Alb Cobra

Established Member
^^^yeah what he said it will usually read about .5 points leaner with the tailpipe sniffers. I blew my engine with a 12.0-12.1. Your air to fuel may change a few tenths in cold vs warm weather also.

Furinox

Established Member
Was he using a tail pipe sniffer, or was he measuring the A/F through a welded in bung in the exhaust BEFORE the cats? If it was a tail pipe sniffer you might be ok. Your best bet is to install your own wideband A/F gauge and measure it yourself. 12/1 is a little leaner that I'd want to go on a boosted engine.