Whats up y'all? I'm new here and got some questions

Austin_9819

Established Member
OK as I said I'm new here so I'm trying to figure everything out. I'm about to turn 18 in a few days and that opens up a good job opportunity for myself... thus me being able to save up for my dream car, the great Terminator :)

I'm not an expert at all when it comes to stuff under the Hood and it makes me mad sometimes because I'm left out of conversations because my lack of knowledge, hopefully that will change in the coming years because I'm looking into going to UTI to become an automotive technician..

So the question I have now has to do with superchargers. When I get my Terminator it will be a street only car and it will be daily driven, I'm wondering if I should keep the KB or get a procharger. I heard the procharger has more high end tq while the KB has more low end tq with a broader powerband. I love the way KB's sound and the instant tq you get from them but honestly I've been looking at procharged cobra and it's really caught my interest... it's just something about when the boost kicks in and you're gone haha.. So my question is which would be better for a street car? A KB OR PC? I believe in the saying "spinning isn't winning" and it would seem to me a KB wouldn't hook as well as a procharger would... what are your thoughts on this? I'm sorry this thread is so long I love talking about this stuff lol

cobra_neill

Established Member
Manchester, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
Hey dude.

From a guy who has a 98 cobra, the lack of torque is irritating. Having driven a centrifugal supercharged mustang the feeling is similar having to wait for the car to kick. The roots type Eaton or twin screw KB is more suitable for daily use if you ask my humble opinion because of the fact the power is instant and let's face it... On the street you will not want to keep your car at high revs just to make it feel powerful.

Neill

Austin_9819

Established Member
Hey dude.