!!WARNING!!! Guys with garage lifts!

Shlby

Established Member
I had my vert on my 4 post lift doing a brake job and some detailing. When I finished I started lifting the car up to allow me to disengage the safty stops. THE LIFT KEPT GOING UP! Now the ceiling in the garage is less than 10' tall, so I only had about 4" between the car roof and the door opener. Needless to say me and my friend Ricky ran to unplug it out of the 220V Welder outlet!
Lucky for me it was a convertible because the car DID make contact with the opener, but since it was a soft top it gave alittle. What if it would have been his 93' Cobra R with 196 miles? WHAT IF THE LIFT WAS HARD WIRED IN TO THE GARAGE breaker box, IT WOULD HAVE KEPT GOING UP? I couldn't have unpluged it! The lift was designed to put wheels on it to roll it in and out of the garage so I put a 220V plug on it to plug it in my welder outlet. Thank GOD!
The problem was the switch that turned the pump on! When the lift was painted the switch was taped. BUT do to a poor tape job it had some paint on the button, which caused it to stick. I have used this lift for over a year with no problems!
THE FIX! I will be installing a new heavy duty switch with a togggle switch back up! And I'm going to install a 220v disconnect box right under the pump motor!
If you own a lift, DO IT NOW!!!!
I'm still SHAKKING!!!

Hissssnsvt

Proud MACA Member
Established Member
Wow, scary indeed. A couple buddies of mine have a 4 post lift. I'll make sure they read your thread and get a emergency stop button installed asap. Thanks for the heads up.

NHRACobra

Cobra guy
Established Member
Wow, that must have been ONE scary experience. I'd get that disconnect box mounted and connected ASAP! You were lucky.

TRBO VNM

postban said:
What brand/manufacture lift is it?

what he said.