Turbo Cam Tuning Question

JDL0812

Established Member
I have a 2013 GT with On 3 Performance twin kit. This is my First turbo car, and Im trying to tune the variable Cam timing. I tried to tune it like a centrifugal super charger but I lose 50 hp every time I put that cam timing in. How do you tune for a turbo using a SCT?

cb900f

Established Member
I have a 2013 GT with On 3 Performance twin kit. This is my First turbo car, and Im trying to tune the variable Cam timing. I tried to tune it like a centrifugal super charger but I lose 50 hp every time I put that cam timing in. How do you tune for a turbo using a SCT?

I'm no expert, but you don't want any overlap. If you adjust the cams to ramp up and have overlap you will lose boost.

Sorry, really no help. If you find anything, please report back as I'm interested to hear.

:beer:

4VFTW

Established Member
this is complicated shit so maybe you should tell us what your vct settings are so those with knowledge can look for issues. Not sure any pro tuner is going to give the info away.

ajpturbo

Established Member
Here is a piece from a tuning software suite for Honda's. Keep that in mind when reading the text when referring to redlines and when they mention that only the intake cam can be phased.

But it seems like with turbos, manifold design is the factor when altering cam timing. The bottom paragraph is the most relevant I think to you.

Tuning Guidelines
In short, the better the breathing of the engine; intake, cams and exhaust, the greater the cam advance needed. There is no situation in which best overall performance is achieved by fixing the cam angle to just one setting or using manual cam adjustment wheels for the intake cam. There may be benefits to fitting and adjusting the exhaust camshaft angle, which is not under computer control.