Snow/salt/sand + daily driver = what to do?

cah41

Established Member
So I did a preliminary search under salt and/or snow, and didn't come up with much--but if this has been beaten to death, my apologies...
(I also don't think this is technically the right forum, however, I think my question will be answered in the best and quickest manner possible here, so I'll take my chances.)

To the point: I daily drive my Cobra (my only car); I am an in graduate school, and have a ~10-15 drive to campus every day. It sees rain, snow, etc...it has to. Not my choice--it kills me to drive it when it is shitty out, but sometimes it's unavoidable. I try to offset these offenses to the exterior by washing it (or having it washed) every 2 weeks, max, sometimes more often; I use a car cover (when it's clean overnight), etc.

Recently here we have gotten a bunch of snow (~5-6 inches). During the days alot of it melts, then freezes overnight. This melting during the day, plus the salt/sand mixture that is literally everywhere makes it seem like I am driving through thick mud at times. All of this is splashing up underneath the car, over the sides, the rear bumper...everywhere.

My question: is there anything I should be doing to prevent damage from the salt/sand during the time that this snow is around (I suspect it will be gone, with the salt/sand washed away sometime next week). Also is there anything I should do particularly afterward (besides just get it washed?)?

Thanks

DVJ38

One mod at a time
Established Member
Red cinder? wtf? lol never heard that one before I guess. The salt melts the ice though.