Need Track Advise for 2.93" Pullied Cobra with Drag Radials

RED2003COBRA

Established Member
I'm currently deployed, but have a race lined up when I get back to the states in July. My buddy has a C-5 Corvette with a Cam/Heads/3.90's/Longtubes/DR's and runs 11.8's at 119.5. I only have the K&N and SLP cat back at the moment on the car. I have a 2.93 Billetflow pulley and 100mm idler waiting for install at home. I'm ordering a tune/tuner from herman and will also be getting some Nitto DR's. I've run my old GT at the track to 13.9's on a hot day with street tires so I've got some track experience. Basically I'm looking for some driving and setup advise since I'm thinking it will be a really close race. This is what I plan on doing and am looking for any advise. I plan on having the DR's at around 18psi. Launch at 3500k while slipping the clutch slightly. Powershifting 1-2 and 3-4 only since I've not had good luck with a 2-3 powershift. Headlight removed for any possible help there. Short shifting 1-2 at about 5500 rpm and then shifting at 6500k for the rest of the gears. That's about it. Any tweaks or driving tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Lance

Fdawg97lx

Established Member
i launch at 4500 on bfg drag radials and cut low 1.7's all day, with a slight slip of the clutch (not just a straight dump) and i shift at 6200 rpms. without powershifting i've been ablt to go 11.8 @ 118.4. with some power shifting i think i could get it down to an 11.6 @ 119-120. this should be a pretty good race, post the results once it happens.

Frank

zinc03svt

Big Red
Established Member
My buddy has a C-5 Corvette with a Cam/Heads/3.90's/Longtubes/DR's and runs 11.8's at 119.5.

Your probably going to get your arse handed to you. With the 2.93 upper only you will probably trap 114-116 tops. If you do not land a 1.7 to 1.8 60 foot it's over for you. Do yourself a favor and call Dynotune for a 50 shot to put the advantage in your court. JMO :nono:

Fdawg97lx

Established Member