Need help trouble shooting , and yes, I used the seach func. first

va boy

Established Member
As the title reads, I need a little help on this one. My background is in 60's muscle, the new modular superhcarged engines are new to me.
Just got my 03 a montha ago, 1 owner 23k miles.
Last night while on a "spirited" run, I was in 3rd gear and felt a skipping while in boost.
Slowed down and pulled on it pretty hard again in 2nd and 3rd, same thing, skipping is the best way I know to describe it.
I looked for the usual suspects, spit plug, hoses disconnected, etc.
Possibly spark plugs are bad, or belt slipping? An elderly gentleman owned the car before me, maybe he lugged around a lot and fouled the plugs?
I drove it tonight and it pulls fine????????? I hate intermitent problems! HARD to diagnose!
Any thoughts?
Thanks for reading.

redfr03svtsnake

Import Killer since 03'
Established Member
cold weather- more boost- more power- i would bet on it being either too big of a spark plug gap/ bad coil pack- remedy- ngk tr6 plugs gapped at .32 if below 18psi, if cop, replace

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
Might want to start with the simple stuff, fuel filter, plugs, vac leaks, etc. Post up your mod list also.

Root1022

100 Shot, 1 Kill
Established Member
I'll bet everything on it being spark plugs. Sounds like the same issue I had when I had TR6's, I would pull yours and check your gap. If they're good I would go with NGK TR7IX's gapped at .32, If that doesnt work I would move on to everything else.

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
I'll bet everything on it being spark plugs. Sounds like the same issue I had when I had TR6's, I would pull yours and check your gap. If they're good I would go with NGK TR7IX's gapped at .32, If that doesnt work I would move on to everything else.

He dosen`t need that cold of a plug at that gap, stock pulley car. I`m guessing fuel filter.

Wayneo

Established Member