Looking for advise regarding the armed forces

ayo232

Established Member
I'm a recent college graduate and I've been looking into joining the armed forces for a bit. I have a full time job, but feel like I want to do something different for a few years of my life before pursuing a law degree. As I have a legal background, I was possibly looking into obtaining a legal position. However, I really don't know much about it. If anyone can help answer the questions below, or simply add some advice, it would be greatly appreciated!

Information about myself:
-22 years old; Bachelors degree with honors in legal studies; wife; worked within law firms for a little over two years; plan on attending law school, but want to wait a few years; wife is really into the idea

1.) Do I get to choose where I will be located?
2.) How many years is a traditional session?
3.) Does anyone have any knowledge about the legal positions?
4.) How would the pay be for a college graduate like myself?
5.) I've heard of sign on bonuses... truth? How much?
6.) What's the best overall branch to join?
7.) How does this officer program work since I have a degree?
8.) Great benefits?
9.) Any other perks?

:beer:

Last edited:

FX4 SAPPER

Established Member
There is a section for this but ill answer:

Depending on what branch, space availability and needs, yes. To an extent. Its rare though and you will probably have to put in some time in service before you get where you want to go.

I know the Army was offering 2 year enlistments Its whatever you decide you want to do.

Difficult to work with, MOS would probably be boring as hell as a newcomer with zero experience but since you have experience probably just another day

With a BA you would probably come in as an E3 unless you coerced your recruiter into going to OCS. Your pay would probably not match what you are or could be making in the private sector. 2011 Military Pay Chart
How much

5.) I've heard of sign on bonuses... truth? ?