• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

It's here, How-to for installation of Speedhut Gauges and SOS Pod with pics

Discussion in 'How-To' started by Jomo1994z71, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    I`ll help ya,been off the air a while trying to install a new hard drive in my good shit,it`s not going real well right now:fm:Might have to ask for geek help!
     
  2. Nastystang

    Nastystang Tell Em Hells Coming! Established Member

    Messages:
    3,219
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    336
    Haha got you do you have a pic or something of where the new coolent goes that hes speaking of to refill??
     
  3. Silverboost

    Silverboost Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,210
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Mill, SC
    If you are looking at your supercharger from the front of the car there is a black tube that runs across the front of it that carries coolant from the radiator to the engine. On that tune there is a plug that you use a 1/4 extension to open. It is on the right side of the supercharger next kind of by the fuel rail.
     
  4. Nastystang

    Nastystang Tell Em Hells Coming! Established Member

    Messages:
    3,219
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    336
    And thats where im suppose to refill it at???
     
  5. thomas91169

    thomas91169 # of bans = 5203 Established Member

    Messages:
    24,658
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    its on the right (drivers) side of the blower, perpindicular to the base of the snout where it meets the blower casing. just a little cap with a 1/4" ratchet insert.

    if you strip it out, like i did, i found that hammering on a 1 1/16" socket works as well, you end up with a ****ed up looking cap, but it works (im ordering a new one through Tousley ford). When you re-tighten, its supposed to be just past finger tight.
     
  6. TRBO VNM

    TRBO VNM Authorized Vendor Authorized Vendor

    Messages:
    23,096
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    I didn't read everything, but why not put the temp sensor plug in the crossover tube? would have been a lot easier and no need to drain the system and deal with the burping of the system.

    also, the needles don't light up. I asked this. They illuminate because of the dial illuminating. Then it reflects off the silver bezel making it look like they are very bright and like the needles light up.

    I have been using the black bezel on my customers cars and my car. I think it looks a lot better with blending into the pillar more and not as "flashy". I think they just look much better with the black and because of that, the reflection is not nearly as bright as you see in the pics with the silver bezel.
     
  7. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    HHMMMM!!I was wondering about black bezels.
     
  8. Nastystang

    Nastystang Tell Em Hells Coming! Established Member

    Messages:
    3,219
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    336
    Soo i could just put the temp sensor in the crossover tube???
     
  9. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    You can,but you still have to get it inside the car.Someone makes a crossover plug adapter,I`m not sure who!
     
  10. TRBO VNM

    TRBO VNM Authorized Vendor Authorized Vendor

    Messages:
    23,096
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    yeah, you still need the wires in the car. the crossover tube is just a much easier location for the sensor. I know he posts here and there is a long thread about it. you can search and find it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  11. Posi

    Posi Had a blast. Established Member

    Messages:
    16,597
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    OP put this thread over in the "how to" section so it stays somewhere we can find it.
     
  12. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Good Idea,maybe a Mod could move it over.
     
  13. 03auto

    03auto New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    tn
    Man, This will be great help when installing. Do you marry the white to white and black to black wire from the same gauge or from the two differnt gauges? I noticed that there were 2 of each on both gauges.
     
  14. 04LSKILLER

    04LSKILLER New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    He just married the wires from both guages to each other, easier to do and looks cleaner!

    Edit: Nevermind, I just went back and looked at the diagram, I dunno?
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  15. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    Put the temp gauge in the block, fillin' the coolant back was cake...people make it a lot bigger problem than it actually is...BTW, I pm'd 3 guys that supposedly sell the crossover tube adaptors but they never got back to me, and I hear they can leak, so that was a NOGO for me...Go in the Block if you want a clean look without that temp probe wire in the crossover tube, JMO
     
  16. Jomo1994z71

    Jomo1994z71 Can I get a KB WooWee! Established Member

    Messages:
    7,313
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    DFW
    BTW, I pretty sure that the needle lights up...when I cut the power and turn the lights on, it's just a light green and no orange/red...
     
  17. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Your correct Joe,the needle does light up.I found this out messing around w/mine before I installed them.
     
  18. black 10th vert

    black 10th vert Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,134
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    MA
    ^ that's what I thought too! I remember seeing a thread awhile back, and the faces were lit up green, but the needles weren't! If you look at the wiring diagram that comes with the gauges, there is in fact a separate white wire just for the needle illumination. I wish I didn't do such a "clean" install on mine, because it is going to be a bitch to get to those wires now, if I end up putting a variable resistor, or switch on them!:nonono:

    Brian
     
  19. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 Want to play a game? Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    49,825
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    That makes 2 of us!I`m going to hate life pulling this stuff apart again!
     
  20. Nutty 5.0

    Nutty 5.0 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    SE Pa
    Ordered my gauges through Jason here and got what he said. They match the SOS pillar perfectly using the black bezels. Not to mention Jason is great to deal with!
     

Share This Page