IRS differential bushing change, how long?

10sec89

Established Member
Curious as to what kind of time frame it takes to change out the two front bushing's and the rear bushing. I am a mechanic by trade, working on industrial equipment(fork lift's and such) so the job don't scare me just wondering how much time I need to allow.

Last edited:

Bruha

Thats what I thought
Established Member
A Lift helps a ton. Without, plan a weekend. Second set of hands is huge too.

xXSnakeBiteXx

Established Member
If your just doing the diff bushings and your good with a wrench you can knock it out in one day no problem lift or not. It doesn't require you to drop the whole sub frame but you will need access to a press for the rear mount

anvrsy red vert

Established Member
Just buy this kit from Maximum Motorsports. IRS differential mounts, urethane, complete kit, 1999-04 Cobra [MMIRSB-45] : Maximum Motorsports, the Latemodel Mustang Performance Suspension Leader! Have to drop the diff. after removing the half shafts but no big deal. I would replace the cover with either an LPW one or the new Ford Racing IRS cover while you have it out though too. Recommend a lube locker gasket as well instead of RTV sealant. If it's your first time removing the diff. I would plan on two days at least!

TRBO VNM

It all depends on what else you are doing. I have had the diff out in 45min before. when I am resealing them I usually take 3hrs. I spend a lot of time cleaning the surfaces to make sure they are spotless and like new. And that 3hrs includes changing the rear bushing as well.

If it takes you 2 days, you should not be working on the car unless it is take a bolt out, drink a beer, take another bolt out, drink a beer and so on.

greengt88

Established Member