I thought I would set up a wireless network at home...

IEatGt's

FormerGarageQueenPro
Established Member
I did some research on wireless routers and decided to purchase an Apple Airport Extreme. It's supposed to be very fast, easy to set up and reliable... Unless you're using Windows Vista. :bored: I jacked with this project all afternoon and evening yesterday. The notebook would see the network, connect to the network and then drop the connection to the network. It would only connect intermittently. If I could get it connect to the internet, it was slower than using a carrier pigeon. I've been looking online this morning for a possible solution to this situation. I may just end up returning it and getting a different router. Does anyone have any experience with Vista and an Airport Extreme?

This is my first time trying to set up a wireless network and at this point I'm more than frustrated with it.

Last edited:

CalcVictim

Resident douchenozzle
Established Member
What was the factor that made you decide on the airport?

Unless you have a specific need for airport, return it and pick up a Linksys Wireless-G WRT54GL. I am running one with Tomato firmware and it's a pleasure to use. It offers QOS, very stable speeds and a bunch of security options (WEP, WPA,WPA2-both personal and enterprise)

Hmbre97

Eaton powered
Established Member
I found your problem

apple-logo.gif

IEatGt's

FormerGarageQueenPro
Established Member

Unless you have a specific need for airport, return it and pick up a Linksys Wireless-G WRT54GL. I am running one with Tomato firmware and it's a pleasure to use. It offers QOS, very stable speeds and a bunch of security options (WEP, WPA,WPA2-both personal and enterprise)

Well, like all other Apple products, it's supposed to be easy to use and it's just supposed to work. Apparently not.

Thank you for the suggestion.

IEatGt's

FormerGarageQueenPro
Established Member

I guess I chose the wrong router.