Homelink in my Cobra

Huachipato

Screaming '04
Established Member
I was not to keen on putting the Homelink into the sun visor. The more I studied how others have done it, the more I read comments like "I have 2 or 3 torn up unusable sun visors" comments. I took inspiration from this guy though:
[ame=http://www.sx4club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7898]SX4 Homelink Install - How to - SX4 Forums[/ame]

I thought I'd go ahead and do something similar, and I think it turned out pretty good. Since I have a convertible, I don't really have the headliner to do what that guy did. However, I knew I had a ton of space to put it in the A Pillar instead.

Here are some crappy phone pics of the finished product:
SNC01313.jpg

SNC01314.jpg

SNC01311.jpg

SNC01312.jpg

For security reasons - I have it wired to a switched fuse, so the key needs to be in the ignition for it to have power. The actual circuit ended up under the dash, as close to the outside wall as I could place it. First day working with the new buttons, and so far so good.

jrgoffin

Been around...
Established Member
I like the HomeLink in my SUV, but I wondered about re-wiring it to switched power...

Wouldn't that erase the saved code(s) once power is removed? Would like to find out though!

Huachipato

Screaming '04
Established Member
Removing power does not erase the codes.

I tested the Homelink before installing, and programmed my garage door to it. After the install - 3 days later without power - it still had it programmed into it.

MoKo_03SVT

=]~
Established Member
prob a silly question...but i truly am clueless on this one. WTF is "homelink" ?

edit: just something you can program your garage door opener to?

Last edited:

TRBO VNM

^search homelink and read. Basically used to open garage doors and now comes in a lot of vehicles from the factory. also can be used to turn lights on and off, I think arm home alarms, etc.

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator