get my 01 cobra N/A to 300rwhp?

svt_cobra01

Established Member
we all know they come 320 from the factory but with drivetrain loss in the 270-280 range i dont find that too fitting knowing my cobra is under 300 if dyno'd i do like too have fun with my car of course and maybe a few runs here and there, i want my cobra to basically have the real rating my car should have. not on a huge budget maybe have $1000 to work with atm but i need ideas on mods. im no expert but what can give my snake some more power to the ground for cheap?

01yellercobra

Established Member
Mine dynoed 297 with just a catted X. I would think intake, exhaust, and tune would get you there.

west08

Established Member
I think you are being pretty realistic about what your car is making rwhp. That being said, $1000 won't get you very far to get around 300+ rwhp. Others will chime in, but I think your best bet is to change the cam timing. From what I have read, it can be all over the board resulting in different cars making a 20-30 whp difference on a stock car. Other than that, the basic bolts on such as long tubes, off-road mid pipe, catback, march damper/ pullies but all those can start getting expensive.

There is a member here who always posts the member "N/A SVT" guide to make power out of a N/A DOHC engine

BigEasy

Established Member
Id start with some long tube headers, off road X pipe or high flow cats, pullies, alum drive shaft, and a good tune. Also id go with some 4:10 gears it dosnt add any HP but it will sure get off the line alot better. Stay away from the cold air intakes, bigger MAF and bigger TB they will really do you no good with just basic bolt ons.

TBCobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Beer Money Bros.
Midpipe, catback, intake and a tune should get you there. I made 312rwhp with these mods.

brucesvt

Established Member