Delete the AC or Not? Managing cooling issues

Bishop03

4v+DOHC=Big Power
Established Member
Thought I would get some feedback from those that have gone done this path.

I am relatively new to the SN95 Cobra world, I have owned a 96 for about a year. The car is going to be a summer driver and an Autocrosser. I live on the Westcoast of Canada and will use the AC 4-5 times a year. The car has a lower temp t-stat and is good working order but still runs hot in the summer especially when driven hard.

I need to manage this issue. The first owner had a switch to turn on the exisiting fans or had extra fan/fans installed and wired to a switch. The second owner took it out because it interfered with his large stereo system. My idea was to get an AC delete and pull out the condenser as I hear this is the main problem. Doing this would also drop weight in an important area of the car.

My brother who is a mechanic thinks I am crazy and believes I will miss the AC. He also feels it could be a bigger job than I think.

So feedback I am looking for is others that have the same issue, how have you managed it and why. Were you happy with the solution. People that have deleted the AC, did you regret it?

SNK_RATH

Established Member
I would get that tsb done ,and go from there . I deleted my ac on my 95 5.0 and have regreted ever since !!!! :fm:

What exactly is running hot ? Where is it at on the gauge ?

mwolson

Gray beard
Established Member
I run a non-intercooled KB @6PSI on my 96. I had a real cooling issue on very hot days, and the condenser replacement fixed it for me. But I did a lot of research in the process. Here are my thoughts on cooling in general and 96 cars specifically:

How do you know it is running hot? Unless it is puking coolant, it probably isn't running hot. Invest in a real gauge so you know.

These engines love to run hot. You get a better burn at the stock temperature, about 195+.