Buying a new Terminator Question

Cobra_GATA

Established Member
I am very, very close to buying a 2003 vert. Since I am rather new to a lot of this from a mechanical and sales transaction perspective, I would like some feedback.

Car has just under 40k on it. Mild mods from what I can tell (exhaust, CAI). Compression was checked, came back at 180 per cylinder. Car looks great from the pictures minus some rock chips on the hood which the seller was more than willing to point out and send pics of. Interior looks great as well. Going to pull the car fax before I pull the trigger but from what I am told no wrecks.

Financing is in place but here is the rub. Car is 4 hours away. My bank will not wire funds. Only a certified check. Owner doesn't want me to take the car until the funds clear but I can't hang around there waiting for that to happen.

My question is this. Based on what I have told you about the car, am I crazy to roll the dice and deposit the check in his account, wait for it to clear before picking up the car? He will send me the title prior but that won't do me much good if I go down there and the car isn't there:cuss:

My original plan was to drive down with the check in hand, check it out first and then hand over payment. Stay over night and bring it back the next day.

JetmechF16

Under Pressure
Established Member
Premium Member
Top Shelf Gentlemen
With a certified check either he or his bank can call the issuing bank of your check to guarantee the funds. When I sell or buy big ticket items privately, that's exactly what I do.

Cobra_GATA

Established Member
So in other words, go check out the car. If I like it, head over to his bank with the check and ask them to guarantee the funds? How would they do that? Call my bank and make sure the funds are available?

testorossa1989

Established Member