Buying a cobra at 100k miles? Reliability? First v8

outdorsman

Established Member
Well after fighting my current car to keep it alive, I've given up and have decided to sell it. I've never owned a v8 but its always been my dream to own a cobra, preferably a termi, but a N/A cobra is the next best thing I can afford. I came from the DSM world, 1997 GS-T Spyder, was a whole world of fun with the 16g on it. But it crapped out on me and became a giant money pit. Keep in mind, I'm 18 but I've been working on cars for 3 years now. I do all my work by myself and have yet to encounter an error in my work. I've rebuilt 3 heads, 1 for my dsm, 1 for my prelude, and 1 for a friend. The only thing I haven't done on a car is a full scale rebuild which I kind of look forward to. I don't beat on my cars (reason why I have 3 still). I do scheduled maintenance on all my vehicles. I've just never had my hands on a v8 besides an 02 Explorer and 01 5.9L Ram.

here is the cobra I was looking at and I'm wondering how does it look? is 100k miles to much? Whats the reliability or what should I expect?

2001 Ford Mustang SVT Cobra, $11,995 - Cars.com

Joester08

Established Member
Its just like any other car man. As long as you take care of it , it will take care of you. But if your doing a rebuild, then you might want to consider getting a beater car or something. Cobra looks good, and 100k miles is high, but it is all about what YOU want.

Good luck man

WhiteSnake99

Established Member
I paid 7000 for mine and it has 140k. But, I had all services verified and they did a complete seal and gasket change at 120k (original owner planned on sc it). Its like what has been said, as long as it is taken care of you should be fine.

98_Undertaker

Established Member
Bought mine with 117,000 in 09 for $8,000 it now has 165,xxx with no issues.

Just take care of it and don't rag the crap out of it and you will be fine

jacker1991

Established Member