Better all around AK for range time: AK47 or AK74

Which AK do you prefer for the criteria I've given?

• Total voters

Jroc

Established Member
I have zero experience with AK's. A little with AR's but none with AK's. Anyway I've been thinking about getting a AK as it seems you can get a better AK for noticeably less than a good AR. From what I've read is that during Vietnam the USSR took the M16 and examined it and the round it fired and like the 5.56 NATO, and copied it's basic design and size and came up with the 5.45x39, and developed the AK74 to fire it off the AK47 design which obviously fires the 7.62x39 round. I believe they are very similar other than the round they fire. From my understanding while not as powerful the AK74 is suppose to be a more accurate gun than the AK47, and it's apparent cheaper to shoot as Russian surplus ammo is cheap and plentiful for it.

People who are knowledge able about these weapons tell me about them, and the benefits of each. Being AK's I'm sure both are extremely rugged and reliable. Is the only real benefit of the AK47 is that's fires a more powerful round? It seems that the AK74 would be a better choice for a gun to take out and shoot frequently? I'm sure it's recoil is easier to manage and if it's more accurate with any given shooter it's likely funner to shoot I'd imagine? Again I'm just looking some good general info on both. Advatages and disadvantages of both, which models to look at and which to avoid, etc.

A better thread title might be comparing 5.45x39 to 7.62x39 instead of Ak47's to AK74's but IDK.

Please correct anything I've said wrong here as this is just what I've gathered reading over the IE.

Thanks,

Jesse

Last edited:

Redneckbmxer24

Established Member