Best Way To Get Past A Work Mess Up

CM5878

Established Member
Long story short is I hard coded something in Excel and was called out about it by Internal Audit(I work for a corporate bank). I basically hard coded the balances in two spreadsheets because I had issues with the excel formulas and I am rather new at this job. After an hr long discussion with Internal Audit, my bosses boss and her boss brought me in to explain the situation and they werent too happy as its technically against the integrity of the company. Now Im extremely worried what tomorrow will brin and Ive already popped one xanax. I go on vacation Thurs so I guess if Im canned, it goes down tomorrow. Is an error like this fixable by being a lesson learned?

Coiled03

Established Member
Totally up to your company and how they handle these things.

I don't think there's anything preventing them from giving you a second chance. But, some companies have a zero tolerance policy for certain types of mistakes.

Your best bet is probably just to own it, and ask for a second chance.

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
Long story short is I hard coded something in Excel and was called out about it by Internal Audit(I work for a corporate bank). I basically hard coded the balances in two spreadsheets because I had issues with the excel formulas and I am rather new at this job. After an hr long discussion with Internal Audit, my bosses boss and her boss brought me in to explain the situation and they weren't too happy as its technically against the integrity of the company. Now I'm extremely worried what tomorrow will bring and Ive already popped one xanax. I go on vacation Thursday so I guess if Im canned, it goes down tomorrow. Is an error like this fixable by being a lesson learned?

No offense, and maybe the meds, but I sure as heck hope you spell better at work, lol.

R.D.P.

Extra Sprinkles
Established Member