Added air to air intercooler to my Kenne Bell

mbuono

On-Track Instructor
Established Member
Dyno results at bottom of page​

Needed to find a better solution to cooling my KB at road course events. Since 95 KB's don't come with intercoolers, I have been using water/methanol injection for the past 3 years with some success.

So what I did is welded plate inside blower manifold which forces the air into outlet tube on driver side of blower then to intercooler and finally back to lower intake manifold.

Just got it all hooked up this week and now need some major "Tweecer" tuning to get it running properly. Then will be able to log some intake temps to see what kind of improvements I get.

Mike

DSC03130.2.jpg
Intercooler.JPG

Last edited:

DDL 2004

1st Sunburst SN-95
Established Member
Awesome job!

Please keep us update... I'm about to begin my install and would like to know if you obtained any gains over your water/methanol injection.

SVTDarin

Established Member
You couldn't have plumbed it so it sucked from the drivers side through the intercooler then in to mass air meter?

mbuono

On-Track Instructor
Established Member
SVTDarin said:
You couldn't have plumbed it so it sucked from the drivers side through the intercooler then in to mass air meter?
There are a number of different ways I could have plumbed it, but this seemed the least expensive and less fab work to it. This project has cost only $600 so far.

Mike

ilumo

Master of going off topic
Established Member