Which job position/shift would you choose?

SCcobra4me

ON3 U LUZ
Established Member
So here's my dilemma, I'm finishing my degree in Business Management in two months and have two opportunities to choose from as we speak and both are full time in good companies. I have 10 years mechanical design experience and only 1 year supervisory experience but want to continue down that route which is more or less why I choose Business Management for my degree. So the options are.....

1) 1st shift job for my experience
2) 2nd shift job for my degree (more money, etc.)

I know you have to start somewhere and gain experience which is the only reason I'm not considered for the first shift supervisor position which is also available. Actually, they are going to hire internally (from second to first) which will open up a second shift job and that's where I'll fit in. But personal life will suffer, I haven't worked 2nd since I was 23 years old (15 years ago) and now am married with a 14 year old in the house.

Gonna be a tough decision, just seeing what you guys would choose. I'm not sure when another opportunity like this will arise and trying to see how long the 2nd shift may be until I can get bumped to first. I'd be more than okay with a year or so but don't want to be stuck for years on end.

Kiohtee

Established Member
I've never liked second shift personally. No time to really do anything, especially if you're working a 10 or 12 hour shift. It's first or third for me (so first since third isn't an option).

Screw-Rice

I like BBC
Established Member
Do what you need to do to advance in the direction you are wanting to end up. I've worked plenty of oddball hours over the years. Your kid is old enough to where they can understand why you would be taking on odd hours.

If your company hasn't done anything to convince you that you would be trapped in the position for a long time, then go for it.

SCcobra4me

ON3 U LUZ
Established Member