NiceCobra

Established Member
My car 2003 cobra vert
Tvs 3.1 pulley 16.5lbs 571/522
Fr diff cover
Mm subframe connectors
Hr race springs
305/35/18 r888

So I've been throwing around the idea of starting to go to the strip starting next spring.

I never really intended to use this car at the track, but now with my job I have a company vehicle and barely get to drive the car. And when I do I rarely go wot on the street in fear of getting pulled over and loosing my license. Then loosing my job because I won't have a license.

So my questions for you guys with aftermarket blowers and a vert.
What mods do you have to "try" not breaking parts every time you go to the track?
Ftbr rear bushing kit?
What roll cages are you guys going with?

Anything else I should know about?

I've never raced at the track so I'm a newb when it comes to this

ctgreddy

Established Member
The single best mod you can do on an irs car to save from breaking stuff, will be a set of slicks. If you dont want to grind your irs knuckle then get a set of 16" wheels and get a bias ply tire for them. You'll hook but have way less chance of breaking anything. I'd say a bushing kit isn't "necessary" but it deff wouldn't hurt.

For cages I have an mm 6 point with swing outs, no complaints.

NiceCobra

Established Member
Thanks for the response.
Have any idea what cage I could get to still fit a car seat in the back.
I just got married and I'm sure kids will be in the future . Which is why I'm planning on staying with the cobra instead of a z06 or a grandsport

Also the next set of tires I was looking at were the toyo tqs
I will consider getting a set of drag wheels and tires but I want to try out the track first to make sure it is my thing. I'm sure I'll only be going once a month

And I'll need to finally upgrade my stock clutch too I'm sure haha

Last edited:

D-MANN

Established Member