Turbo for 94 Cobra

ballx4xlife

Established Member
Hey guys, i'm looking at getting a turbo for my 94. Its only got 20k miles on it. I currently have the Trick Flow H/C/I package and basically all the bolt ons. I am planning on getting a 347 stroker kit with a new shortblock from fordstrokers.com within the next year. I am currently looking at the Treadstone kit for the 87-93 stangs and the only thing different would be my cold air piping or intercooler piping. So I might buy everything seperate and custom make my cold air piping.

First of all which turbo would you recommend? and which A/R? I am leaning towards the turbonetics turbos, maybe the 62-1 or t66?

Also, what all parts would I need for the turbo kit since I am piecing it together? (I am fairly new with turbos)

And then what cam would you recommend? (keep in mind I am planning on stroking it within the next year)

Last edited:

ballx4xlife

Established Member
Look up reviews of Treadstone on turboforums.com. I would look into On3, or BG before Treadstone.

the on3performance looks good and the price also looks really good. I would be worried about the house turbo (i read i could upgrade to the MP t70) and also the house BOV and wastegate, what do you think of those 3 items? the piping and everything else looks good.

Speeds8erM-1

Video Whore
Established Member
Some people have run them with success, but anytime I have figured on getting one, I went ahead and pretended the cheaper turbo didnt exist. I would at the very least run the MP70, but thats just me.

ballx4xlife

Established Member
Some people have run them with success, but anytime I have figured on getting one, I went ahead and pretended the cheaper turbo didnt exist. I would at the very least run the MP70, but thats just me.

thats what I was thinking. would you recommend going even further and getting a ball bearing?

CobraMac

Established Member