"Town's Speeding Cameras are a scam" said a judge. Hmm, really?

Juiced 66

Established Member
Im a cop, and I think they are nothing but a money maker for the city. I received a ticket in the mail from one in my town a few years back. Well, I had sold my truck, and the guy that bought it ran a red light before he titled the truck in his name. I didn't pay it, because it is a "civil fine" they can't prove who was driving the truck, and it wasn't me so screw it.

Ry_Trapp0

Condom Model
Established Member
like i mentioned on the local site, i can't believe it took this long for a judge to finally rule that speeding/red light cams are a violation of due process. better now than never

Juiced 66

Established Member
^ exactly.

Kinda hard to plead not guilty and confront your accuser in court when no actual person saw you commit an offense.

Gray_Ghost

Established Member
Our city spent thousands of dollars having them installed at 2 major intersections. All they did was cause accidents as several people slammed on their brakes when the light turned yellow. And apparently, the service was insanely expensive to pay for. They were eventually removed after about 6 months. Countless tax dollars were wasted on this endeavor. And literally only a handful of tickets were written...

Last edited:

PSUCOBRA96

Established Member
our county loves speed cameras, the road a few blocks from me has two on the same side of the street about 500 feet from each other? WTF is the point of that? To make money.

jbs$

Established Member
They are a version of buccaneering with a badge. Their only purpose is to provide revenue for the government body that installed them. Often, behind the program are additional fraud and pay offs the government official. Big money is alway at stake in these scams.

SNCBOOM

Established Member
I hear that they're common in VA, around the DC area...imagine that.

tistan

Established Member