switching to synthetic oil, a few qustions inside------->

TokenBlackGuy

Established Member
i'm thinking about switching to synthetic oil for my cobra. i've never used synthetic before. what brand and weight do you recommend? also, i don't need a special oil filter for synthetics, do I? thanks...

travis

I8URZ28

gas mileage is overrated!
Established Member
you will get alot of different replys on this as for brand of oil and weight IMO I would use the manufacturer recommended weight and buy moble 1 syn -- as for the oil filter alot of people use the stock motorcrafts don't know the PN though :beer:

snackpack

Established Member
I used Moble 1 Sys. in my last Cobra. I am switching to that on my next oil change.

flyn high again

You are getting sleepy...
Established Member
Any brand of synthetic will lubricate better than organic oil. Mobil 1 is usually available in the same viscosity as stock [5W20] so that's what I use.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Doesn't Ford use a synthetic blend? So you're going from a blend to full synthetic. I used both Mobil 1 and Redline. Mobil 1 is easier to get and sometimes can be bought at a discount. Even Costco and BJ sells Mobil 1 but not always the weight you need. My choice would be Mobil 1, and stick to the recommended weight.

STROKD

Takin pictures of stuff
Established Member
My car has 5W30 Royal Purple in it from the dealer I got it from... no problems so far.

lukem80

Established Member
Mobil 1 5-30. can buy it at walmart in the big jug for pretty cheap.

I run a motorcraft filter (like oem)

change oil every 5,000 miles.

run an oil separator and clean it out every 1,000 miles

metaman

Established Member