Swapping auto to T56 Magnum

garylahr

Established Member
When I started my swap I didn't think to document it but thought I would share anyway. Maybe some of the stuff I had to research will help other people.

Let me start by saying I'm not a drag race guy which should explain why I'm going back to a manual trans. I like the road race scene and take my car to the mountains on a regular basis. I have a 2003 10th anv edition I traded a guy for last year. I traded him a Factory Five Racing MK3 I build in 2006 but that is besides the point. The cobra has a 4r70w auto transmission now and I am putting a T56 magnum in it. Before I get too deep into this post I want to say I'm not a mechanic professionally (I'm a computer guy) but I like working on my cars. So anyone else out there that is considering this job its not really that difficult but it is heavy work.

Collecting parts:
I thought I was going to get lucky to find a trans on craigslist but it turned out to be a TR3650 (5 speed), word to the wise, make sure you know what you are looking at before you buy. I wanted a 6speed so I bought a new T56 from American Muscle (AM).
Bellhousing is a stock T56, the quicktime is not required but if you want a scatter shield that is the best option.
Clutch again I went to AM and they hooked me up with a RAM single disc clutch. I initially ordered a 10 spline for the other trans before I found out it was not a T56 and they took it back no questions.
Foot pedals I had from the original setup
Bolts - what a PITA. I spent hours on ford part sites figuring out what bolts I needed. AM had some of them but not all of them and I had to get the ones they didn't have from other sources like Jegs or boltdepot.
clutch cable, fork, throw out bearing and pilot bearing all came from AM.

The swap: