Supercharger belt fraying, unsure of cause or proper length to replace with

pridemore54

Established Member
Hey guys hoping for a little education on a couple of questions. I'm gonna sound like a total noob but this is the first time I've even had to fool with belt before, let alone figuring out the length needs and dynamics of the belt and tensioner.

When I first picked the car up I noticed a couple frays at the front of the belt but wasn't overly worried. Within 200 miles and about 3 small pulls under boost, it now looks like this and was squealing during quick revs for downshifts.

313435272_10220901668402410_7710910554510561285_n.jpg

313405324_10220901668882422_1027673904050397665_n.jpg

313333432_10220901669002425_5064341780555782349_n.jpg

Is there evidence here to diagnose why this is happening? Things to check for?

Setup details: Running a 2.9 Whipple with a 3.5in upper pulley with a metco 4# (8.60" dia.) lower. I believe this Metco Idler Kit with a 90mm idler and (3) 100mm idlers is what's currently installed. Going to verify that when I get home. Also worth mentioning, I have not experienced any belt slip so far.

My second question, what size belt should I order? The belt I pulled off is 82.75" length. I intend to get either a Gates green or RPM belt but have read about their vast differences and about adjusting the belt tensioner for them but have no clue what that entails. Anyone have guidance for me there?

03' White Snake

Established Member
The belt tensioner does it for you. Key is to get the tab on the backside of the tensioner arm in the center of the cut out. Look at the back of the tensioner and you will see.

Remember, smooth pulley side to smooth belt side, and same for ribs. You will figure out how the belt goes. I flex tensioner first, put belt on that pulley, release. Run the belt over rest of pullies and do the supercharger last.