Suggestions for Forging?

Shambles

Fetch the COMFY CHAIR!
Established Member
Well, in the future I plan on forging out the block and deciding to put some major boost on the car. Gotta put that Teksid to good use. However, I'm relatively new to this block's internals. I know that the Crackshaft is forged, but everything else is hypernetic (pistons, rods, etc)...

I would like to get it to the point as an 03/04 block. I've heard that Manley makes a good set for everything, but I have no clue WTF im looking for, or what the cost is probably going to run me for installation. Im a good friend of an engine builder, but I wouldnt mind knowing what I would be up against.

While im in there I'll probably go ahead and port and polish these b-heads, since they like FI :).

So what am I looking at to replace here? I would like to go with a Turbo setup in the future, or maybe a twin screw SC setup, so keep that in mind.

Ready, and....GO!

97BlackSnake

PUNSNAKE
Established Member
I broke a ring in my car so i decided to have an engine builder rebuild mine with forged internals he says its gona be between 3000-3500$ thats including labor, parts, and machining however i do have to pull th e motor and bring it to him!

na svt

say no to power adders
Established Member
The 03/04 rods are great but the pistons leave much to be desired. As you've already stated, the hypeauretic pistons are crap, I'd replace them with somethimg along the quality of Ross, CP or Diamond. I haven't heard anything good or bad about Manley pistons but plenty of good about the other two I mentioned.

The B-heads do work well with boost but the other heads work better and will provide much better driveability. However, the money you save by sticking with them could be put into billet rods and other bottom end strengthening parts that will ensure it stays together under extreme boost conditions.