stock shifter - i can't take it anymore

Mr. Jack

Established Member
Hey guys...

Let me start off by saying I've had my Sonic Blue Cobra for about a week and I am absolutely BLOWN AWAY by this car.

My previous car was an 02 GT. It was actually my first manual tranny car and I loved it right off the bat. After a while, I started reading the forums and I heard every one rave about the Pro 5.0 and Tri-ax being so much better than the stock shifter.

I went out and purchased a Pro 5.0 and it was one of the best mods that I ever made. I loved that positive, mechanical feel.

Anyways, when I got my Cobra I decided to give the stocker a try. It felt better than my GT did when it was stock. But after driving for a week, I realized that I was missing shifts. I am not even talking about WOT shifts....I'm talking about putting the thing in 5th gear. It may be because I am a crap-ass driver, but man it seems to me this thing is vague and sloppy.

I like to move the shifter side to side to make sure that I am in neutral (something that was really easy with the Pro 5.0). It seems that even THAT doesn't feel smooth on the stocker.

Oh well...sorry about this long diatribe. The only question is whether to go with the Steeda or the Pro 5.0... :-D

MystiChrome Coupe

Established Member
I had a steeda in my '01 & I have a pro 50 with the MGW adjustable handle in my '04. I like my current combo the best.

WaznMe

Enzyte RICER RECOMMENDED.
Established Member
can some 1 post a pic with the MGW handle on?? or a link to where you can buy one??

KDog

Established Member
MGW is also coming out with a new shifter soon. You might want to see what it looks like.

As for the Pro 5.0 and Tri-Ax, every poll I've seen as to which is preferred winds up at just about 50/50.

Zinc03Cobra

Super Trooper
Established Member
Originally posted by KDog
MGW is also coming out with a new shifter soon. You might want to see what it looks like.