Springfield Armory XD .45 ACP?

brainpa

Established Member
I don't know if I am in the correct section or not, and if not, Mods, please feel free to move this thread.

I am new to the handgun market, but was wondering if anyone here has had any first-hand experience with Springfield Armory's XD .45 ACP models?

Any input would be appreciated.

This is the one: http://www.springfield-armory.com/xd.php?version=104

Thanks

Last edited:

E. Green Cobra

Bounced in the 1st!
Established Member
Roadside would likely be better.

I have one, (XD45 compact 4inch barrel). I also have a Glock 21sf, and have also had a Glock 30 next to the XD. (The glocks are a good bit thicker.)

All are great pistols.
I've had about 2000 rounds though my XD, not a single hiccup, no ftf,fte nothing. Pull the trigger and it goes bang.

The trigger has gotten lighter with use, around 4-5 lbs. There is more slop in the trigger reset than the Glocks.

I like the grip safety and chamber/firing pin indicators.

Only knock against the gun is the sights are a huge MFer to change, get what you want from the factory. Trust me.

Good reliable gun, decent accuracy for a combat pistol, pretty much a Glock with the addition of a grip safety. (grip angles are different). No complaints.

Oh and recoil is a nice easy push, (not snappy). Easy shooter, my ex was able to fire it comfortably, and she was about 5'3 though at times she had some trouble racking the slide.

Last edited:

VNMOUS1

Established Member
No longer a LEO, but still a firearms instructor. You may want to also take a peek at the S&W M&P if you're looking for a DAO pistol. I have a number of students that walk in wanting to hold a Glock sideways, but leave with XDs or M&Ps once they get a clue.