Shotgun question

ScareCrow

"Facts are stupid things"
Established Member
I have been thinking about picking one up for home protection and some range shooting. After talking to other owners and some reading I was set on getting the Remington 870. Heard nothing but goods things about it.

Well after some more research , I ran across this :

Mossberg 500 Roadblocker: The most badass pump action shotgun ever | The Firearm Blog

Im new to the firearm scene, so since I know there are quite a few guys here that know their stuff, is one better than the other ( brand , quality , etc. ) and which would you suggest ? Im not looking to spend much over the six hundred dollar range if that helps.

Last edited:

NXSVTCOBRA

I've only ever owned Mossberg Shotguns, I've never been let down by one in quality, functionality or comfort.

Here's my current
006-1.jpg

007-1.jpg

txyaloo

Established Member
$600 is really expensive for a pump shotgun. You can get a remington 870 express with an 18" barrel and extended magazine for around $330 out the door if you shop around.

I'd go with the 870 over the mossburg 500. If you decide to go with the mossburg, just get their standard 500. They go for around $200-250 out the door.

Silverstrike

It's to big to move FAST!
Established Member
I like the Ithica 37/87 pump as it has no milled parts not even the trigger plus you can fire it right or left handed. Try that with a 500/870 as when you put it up to your left shoulder your going to be eating casings as the 500/870 ejection port is on the right side. The Ithica ejects and feeds from the bottom. Never had a problem with the 3 37's I had just that they'er not as massed produced as the Rem or Mossy's

qachargh

Established Member
Either one. Neither one will ever let you down. The only real reason to pick one over the other is whichever was cheapest at the moment.

2FNFAST

Shinin' and Whinin'
Established Member