Roush TVS R2300 Options for Noob

Mike50

Established Member
I own a 2011 GT, and I recently had a Roush TVS installed. This is my third Mustang, but it's the first time I've pushed performance beyond stock.

Please bear with me, but I am just a little confused about some things. The main reason I went the Roush route was due to warranty concerns and because everyone knows and trusts them.

Now that so many people have pushed their 5.0's beyond even the 540HP Roush set up and tune, I am feeling a lot more comfortable about voiding my warranty and getting more out of my blower. I already dumped well over $6K into it, and if another small fraction of that cost could be spent again to get significantly better performance, then I am definitely interested!

The problem is that I don't know how to go about it. I am not a mechanic. The most advanced thing I've done to a car is to change the brake pads. Other than fluids, I have never done anything under the hood.

So what are my options for pushing my car to the next level? With the Roush TVS already installed, can I get noticeably better performance with a simple tune? Is it as simple as contacting someone like VMP or JDM and buying a handheld tuner with a tune from them? How difficult is it to change the pulley to a smaller one? What tools are required?

I just want to understand what my options are. Thanks for any advice. I really love my car! By the way, the only other relevant mod I have done to my car is a set of Borla S-Type axle-backs.

BV600

Established Member
Ive never changed a pulley but It cant be hard. Id say pulley maybe jlt intake and a VMP Tune. Should be really easy.

Edit**BeatDik you beat me to it

JerryC

Established Member
I own a 2011 GT, and I recently had a Roush TVS installed. This is my third Mustang, but it's the first time I've pushed performance beyond stock.