Quick Mechanical Engineering Question

snakebitgt94

Established Member
I'm trying to figure out what job I want for the rest of my life and I can't decide what I want to do. I've thought about going for Mechanical Engineering but in High School, I never took any drafting/physics classes. I don't know how to use all the CAD programs or anything. I was just wondering if they taught you that when you start classes or are you expected to know those things when you start?

Also, for those who have taken it, is it really that hard? I know it will be a challenge but it is really hair-pulling like everyone says engineering is? I dont want to have my nose stuck in a book my entire college life, so I was just wondering. By the way, I'm looking to get into to the motorsports field if that helps.

xhailofgunfirex

Established Member
I graduated with my ME degree last year, been working for the government for a year now.

You will need to spend lots of time with your nose in the book, there's a lot of studying you need to do, some people can get away with not studying, but they understand and grasp the concepts very quickly, if you can't do that then expect to study a lot. If you want to party and use college to hook up with girls and have an awesome social life, stay away from engineering and get a business degree. Engineering is a serious thing, and it takes a lot of time, lots of people drop out and switch majors after the first year or two. Physics and subjects that are related to physics are very important. You will take some CAD classes in school, but they aren't enough to do the job really. Most schools only teach a semester of CAD, and not necessarily 3d modeling. You will need to learn and spend time using the programs on your own time and become very comfortable with them.