Power not as advertised?

Ass Eyes

Helter Skelter
Established Member
I bought a car advertised here. Flew to get it, drove it home.

From the first time I hit the throttle hard I questioned the stated 633 whp. The last Terminator I had made 570-ish and seemed stronger though time, the Z06 I had and the 650 hp Benz I have now may have dulled the memory.

Anyway, tonight I did a 3rd gear pull to redline and noticed the aftermarket boost guage didn't even make it to 12 psi. I'm pretty sure that's not enough for a 2.2 Kenne Bell to get to the stated power level given the rest of the mods on this car.

I should let y'all know that I'm far from an expert on these cars and/or their tech. I'm at your mercy on this.

What I need to do is take it to a dyno. Problem is I'll have to find one in another town - none around here. What I want to know is if that 3rd gear thing I did is a true indication of anything relevant. Maybe I can't trust the guage. Maybe 3rd gear isn't where I should do this test. Maybe the SCT tuner that came with the car has multiple tunes and the current one loaded is a tamer version - I have no documentation on it so I've stayed away from messing with it.

I'd love any advice on this.

Last edited:

520Terminator

Wait.....What?
Established Member
The aftermarket gauge should be pretty accurate. Have you contacted the previous owner to see if maybe it has a bigger pulley on it and a milder tune to run better on pump gas? What size pulley is on it now? What size lower? Also, you might get a better response in either the Terminator forum, or the Blower forum.

STAMPEDE3

SAULS BROTHER
Super Moderator
Also remember that 630RWHP on one dyno may be 600RWHP on another.

That is why I hate and really don't pay attention to numbers.
they are given way too much credit in todays world.

thomas91169

# of bans = 5203
Established Member

This is so true.