Picture taking gurus needed. Need help buying camera.

prochargedcobra

BADENUF
Established Member
Im a noob with cameras and want to get into taking pictures. I have no idea what cameras out there are the best. I want something that takes clear pics and can get a decent zoom. Can you picture taking gurus help me with this? Im a contractor so I need to take good pics to save my butt and I want to take pics like you guys do of your cars. I would like to stay under 3-400 dollars.

Last edited:

portcity_gt

Established Member
it depends on what ur going to use it for...and if you want to spend a couple hundred or a couple thousand.

i have a canon sd600, that works just fine for my needs, and it was only $200

but i would stick with canon of fuji there the best imo

95kobrah

Established Member
Canon S3 IS

Canon A710 IS

Fuji S700

Nikon P5000

Nikon S10

All excellent cameras in your price range with good zooms and lots of features

no cigar

I want a $944 camera!
Established Member
I will 2nd the Canon S3-IS. They have already been replaced by the S5-IS so they are pretty reasonable right now. I got mine for 350 from Newegg with a 2gig CF card and overnight for 350. They will take some VERY nice pics.

Do a search and look for the thread I posted in pics and vids with some shots from my S3.

96redvette

god my car is slow
Established Member
i like canon and if you are going for a camera to take some nice snapshots try something from the SD series.. i like the SD630 because it has a large screen. if you want to take some better pics and think you may want to get into photography alittle more you could get the rebel xti, but i warn you, buying lenses is as addictive as buying speed parts for your car. the next step up would be the 5d and the markII or markIII now.... i wouldnt reccomend those if you are a beginner though

Jesterjr

Still in College and Poor
Established Member