patching exhaust leaks

96Cobracomander

Established Member
Hey here is my situation im like 2 months over due on my inspection for the car...

I had a bunch of codes and i fixed all of them except for a lean bank 2 code
and i know the car has an exhaust leak before the up stream 02 sensor and i already checked all vacuum lines and everything after the MAF to make sure i wasn't getting extra air, and i cleaned the MAF with electrical contact cleaner ect.

so all i have left now is this leak to get rid of this code so i can get the car back on the road, how can i patch an exhaust leak where ever it may be?

i am a plumber so i have acess to high temp furnace cement would that patch anything just long enough to get an inspection done?

I have a whole brand new exhaust waiting to go in but i want the inspection done first

98$vt

i love white girls
Established Member
is that a lean code for the o2 censors?
i had a bank code for the o2 being bad before i dont know if it is the same as what you have tho

mwolson

Gray beard
Established Member
You might also want to check your motor mounts. I had a broken one that allowed the engine to flex enough to cause a leak at the manifold donut.

Prothane mounts in there now.

96Cobracomander

Established Member
well most likely sunday ill have the time to do this... as for patching any leaks you think high temp furance cement would hold for a week ?

96Cobracomander

Established Member
well i found the leak to be coming from driver side exhaust on the flange where the mid pipe meets the manifold, so i got some high temp furnace cement and slathered a whole bunch on the flange where the ball and socket are and i now fixed the lean code,

But of course 2 more codes have ascended from hell... P1443 and P0420, you think either of these are related to each other? pretty random that they'd jump pop up like that after i fix a lean code

mwolson

Gray beard
Established Member