Oil Guys

COBRA97SVT

Established Member
This summer over a dozen oil wells have been put in around my place. I got a letter in the mail from the oil company asking me to sign the petition to allow for drilling. There is a representative coming tonight to discuss the company's plans. Never been involved in anything like this before, what do I ask? Will these guys be honest with me or just tell me what I want to hear? Depending on what they tell me, I might sit down with a lawyer to discuss as well.

starnsey

Established Member
I wouldn't assume any company with any vested interest in doing something to their advantage to be 100% honest about their product. I work in O&G now but if they're asking you to sign a petition then I would assume it has some effect on your property (positive or negative? dunno) so I would make sure you find some way to get some unbiased details.

low03tb

THUNDER UP!
Established Member
I'm a exploration geologist with a 'smaller-ish' company here in OK. Having you sign some petition to allow them to drill...sounds weird? A petition? Are you sure they're not force pooling you?

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
Yeah read that petition carefully. It may be that the city is trying to curtail their exploration in the region and they are asking for your support. Equally you may accidentally be signing away mineral rights, so be careful what you sign there.

In regards to a meeting with their representatives, I would ask them about the processes they are using both to drill or frack the well as well as how they maintain the infrastructure afterwords.