Now what broke...

04dreamcobra

When it runs, it's fast...
Established Member
I was setting in the garage letting the car idle and checking out everything after a wideband install. And all of the sudden smoke start rolling from the engine bay on the passenger side. I turned the car off and started looking for a fire and there was none. But a nice size puddle under the car. A thick yellowish green liquid. It had got on the side of the motor and on the headers and smoked like crazy. Can't identify the source though. It doesn't taste sweet and doesn't look like oil. So any thoughts? I think it could be coming from a line that runs next to the motor. See pictures for more info. Pictures wont load. But here are some PDF's of the pictures. Will work on them more later.
View attachment leak.pdf
View attachment view.pdf

Last edited:

04dreamcobra

Established Member
I agree. But it very bitter vs the sweet taste it usually has. Normal? And it is a lot thicker than normal. Im no mechanic though and anything is possible...

Rich'sTRsvt

Established Member
Some coolents are offered with a more bitter taste to deter animals and people from consuming it. What he said ^

Last edited:

04dreamcobra

Established Member
ah. ok then. I recall the old coolant prior to the change being sweet. But I don't think I recall what was added. I may "test" the container then to see. HA. The hard part is I can't find a source. It appears to be sprayed based on the coverage. so i would suspect a line or something. Any thoughts on that?

big dad

Established Member
Does the AC still work? My guess is an AC line that broke and dispelled the refrigerant. There's a line on that side of the car that runs along the frame rail to the evaporator. Also the refrigerant has color to it like you described because there is a dye added to it.

04dreamcobra

Established Member