Newer and Younger Officers

Vizior

Established Member
First of all, I'll preface this by saying that I've been a paramedic for almost six years, and absolutely love what I do and have nothing but respect for the LEOs and firefighters that I work with, and have met over my years so far.

In terms of the veteran officers, how do you deal with poor attitudes? Unfortunately I've seen changes of attitude from people I used to work with that switched from EMS to PD that really bothers me. I applaud them for finding a career that they worked hard to earn, but at the same time I hate watching them become jaded. I notice (especially of the officers that are working certain inner-city areas) that when they come back and work on an ambulance that suddenly everyone is a "perp" to them, and no longer a patient or even a human being.

In one specific instance I worked with a paramedic who was also a police sergeant over a new officer that I knew, and he even mentioned that it was an attitude like that which lands a new officer in trouble. Understandably I would imagine that empathy becomes slightly distorted. Between that and the social media garbage that never stopped (such as instagram photos of breaking 150 mph off-duty), what do you do? I'm certainly not about to find the e-mail of their captain or chief and start sending pictures and ranting e-mails. If I'm close to them, I have no issue speaking with them in private about it, but outside of that I feel lost. Would you just ignore it? Possibly find a way to contact their FTO? I don't want to see them have a problem with their career and I definitely don't want to see a patient suffer because they can't switch out of whatever mindset they are in.

musclefan21

Established Member
A perp is a perp whether in an ambulance or behind bars or on the streets.

He doesn't have to give a shit about that person and have all the opinion he has about that person. As long as hd is doing his job, who cares?