Myths that were busted today...

stangliter04

Established Member
!st- While I agree you should always check your tune after modding the fuel system... switching from stock Cobra pumps and a BAP to Ford GT pumps and duel FPDMs does not change your tune.

2nd- Royal Purple does not add 10HP (But we all knew that) I just happened to do a RP oil change lastnight so I thought it would be fun to post that.

3rd- Running straight water in the intercooler does nothing over a mix of coolant/water

This was all on the same dyno and my car was sitting for 5 hours before it was pulled. Temps were actually 5degrees cooler today.

Just some FYI from my experience. :beer:

03 Whippled Cobra

Established Member
I'm not an expert but I think #1 could be false. I've seen and heard many times that the GT pumps draw a different voltage then the stockers and the tune needs to be updated for this. But I'd like to hear what others think about this one.

waltd20012002

Established Member
add 1 drop of dawn dishwashing liquid to the straight water mix. it may not change temps any at all but reduces the surface tension of the water thus providing better cooling...

fire_4_effect

Motorsports = Expensive!
Established Member
so #2 is false? no way... lol!!! i feel that running such expensive oil is probably better for the ride but we all must admit that it also contains a hint of mind games; we thinking that it is better. IMO the additives help protect and coats better than conventional oil. whatever though, i will probably run mobil 1 until my rides fall apart. lol!

twhitey

Established Member
Who checked your tune and a/f? How is your drive ability with the gt pumps and tuned for stock with a bap

stangliter04

Established Member
it does...
oh it does??? Mine must be special...