Mcleod clutch & flywheel set up

dannydr44

Established Member
Hey everyone,

So, I decided to purchase and install a Mcleod RST twin clutch, Mcleod aluminum flywheel, Mcleod clutch line upgrade and axle exchange aluminum drive shaft. This is my first time, driving with a duel clutch set up and I have a few questions. For one, the chatter between 1600 to 2000 RPMS is pretty damn loud. I’m assuming that’s normal? Two, I’ve been driving manual transmissions since I was 17 and I’m currently 31. I’m having a hell of time, finding that fine spot to where I’m not riding the clutch, until it engages. I feel as if I’m riding the clutch more than before. I only have about 300 miles on it but I sure as hell, don’t want to ruin the clutch during the break in process. This clutch grabs like a mother ****er and I can’t wait to hit the track with it.

Thanks,

Dan :)

SCalla1384

Established Member
Mine never chatters unless I'm taking off like an idiot. But no chatter between 16-2200rpm. It could just be hearing the harmonics more with all the aluminum. We noticed that after we put an alum flywheel/ds on my fathers Mach. I have a lightened steel flywheel so I can't tell you.

As far as finding the correct spot, twin disc tends to do that. With an aluminum flywheel (less energy being sorted) will increase that as well. Eventually, you'll get used to it. It'll eventually settle out. My clutch engagement changed for the first 1000 miles or so. Sometimes right off the floor, sometimes in the middle etc....

Also, for the track, if your going on a drag radial where you plan on slipping the clutch hard, be careful. These clutches don't really slip with rpm. They pretty much just bite. I tried, and pissed off the rear end alittle because I basically dumped the clutch at 4500rpm. Where I could slip the hell out of the stock clutch.

Ill_W1N

Established Member