Looking at Ford Racing DOHC 4.6L Heads...

MR.ADAMS

Established Member
-Ford Racing 4.6L Performance Cylinder Heads

What's the word on these? Good, bad, neutral?

I'm looking at an unused set of these heads but I'm wondering if there will be any noteworthy performance gains while using the stock valvetrain, cams, etc. The only parts that would change would be those needed to do the swap such as the C-head intake, exhaust manifolds.

I have no experience with these heads and any input would be much appreciated as this will help me decide on purchasing or not.

Thanks!

Last edited:

OCSnk

NowIESnk
Established Member
Some info I have on file:

’03/04 DOHC head dimensions: Combustion Chamber: 52cc, Intake Port Vol.: 177cc, Intake Port Entrance: 1.960”x1.350”, Valves: 37mm Int., 30mm Exh.

FR500 head dimensions: Combustion Chamber: 53cc, Intake Port Vol.: 160cc, Intake Port Entrance: 1.960”x1.350”, Valves: 37mm Int., 30mm Exh.

The FR500s only real fault is that the newer ’03 DOHC and the 04 heads provide near identical performance capability (much better on the exhaust side) paired with a cost differential that is approximately two-thirds less than the FRPP castings.

‘03/04 DOHC head: (‘03+ Aviator, Marauder, Cobra, Mach 1, Australian Boss 260/290)
Featuring a nearly identical (though 17cc larger in volume due to the fact that they are also used on the much larger Australian Boss 260/290 5.4L DOHCs) intake port to the FR500 head, but combining it with a newly designed, larger and more rectangular exhaust port, these may be the best all around DOHC Ford heads ever manufactured.