legal advantages for corporations salary vs hourly

t0ad

The Nightman
Established Member
I work at The HomeDepot Austin Technology Center.

Today we had a reorganization. They are removing all the job classifications and replacing them all with 4. Level 1, Level 2, Supervisor, Level 3.
Level 1 and level 2 will be hourly employees. Nearly everyone will be put in those two classifications.

I am a Sr Systems Engineer and I had to reapply for my job. The job descriptions are generic and have nothing to do with what I actually do. I applied for both Level 3 and Level 2.

I am scratching my head trying to figure out what they are up to by doing this.

My thoughts are is is some kind of incremental change in preparation for the next step.

So My question is...

What advantage does the company have by doing this. Compensation will not be reduced. So if you make $80K a year and accept a level 2 position, your compensation will be $38.46 an hour.

There must be some legal advantage they are going to exploit.

any ideas?

carrew

'01 Cobra Jet
Established Member
If your hourly you get OT, if your salary your probably getting a larger bonus percentage. I have been both and I actually like hourly, since some times things are pressing and you work a 12 hour day, you get your moneys worth. Or special times when you have to travel on a holiday to work at a facililty that is on holiday shutdown. Then you get D 2x pay for OT.

jerrad

RIP Gump
Established Member
Salary means more work for less money.
I'm salary and I get 0 overtime. If I have to go to corporate for a week I get nothing in return. That's a huge savings for the company.
Not sure about legal stuff though.

t0ad

The Nightman
Established Member
yep. I understand the part about OT, etc. There is a difference in benefits between hourly and salary and the way you are viewed by the company. Salaried employees are viewed as being professionals whereas hourly... not so much.