Laying deck boards

wht93gted

Established Member
bark side up or bark side down.

I didn't realize there'd be so much debate about this. Not being a deck builder, I figured I'd just hop online and see which way to lay them; boy was I wrong...

So, real world experiences; what have you guys done? I'm just using plain PT wood, I don't want to spend $$$$ for Trex or even the Home Depot imitation versions. What kind of stain or sealer has worked well also? thanks

lobra97

PIITB since 1984
Established Member
good luck man that is another parallel universe when it come to that stuff. have yo been to any DIY forums? lot of knowledge there, i am looking to build a walkway or something in the back so i've been on a few sites

oldmodman

Established Member
If this is real wood the cupped side goes down. By that I mean that the hump is up so that if the wood cups further the edges will still be down and equal in height to the plank next to it. And prefer deck screw to nails. And I have always pre-drilled the plank to prevent splitting.

VirtualSVT

lolololololololololol
Established Member
If this is real wood the cupped side goes down. By that I mean that the hump is up so that if the wood cups further the edges will still be down and equal in height to the plank next to it. And prefer deck screw to nails. And I have always pre-drilled the plank to prevent splitting.

this. Nails are the worst idea ever.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Definitely use deck screws. Don't use nails! Pre-drilling is a great idea, too.

When laying the deck planks down, allow room for wood expansion (there is a tool for this). Also, you need to let the treated wood season/dry before you stain or seal. Rule of thumb is a minimum of 3 months. You want to get the moisture content down so that the stain will soak in and last. I just did a deck last fall. I cleaned the deck thoroughly yesterday and I plan to stain it this Friday. Finally.

soccerman002