Law School Question

PSI87

Banned
I'm considering applying for several law schools in the fall... I was wondering, since statutory law varies state by state, does it matter what state I go to school in? For instance, I'm a Florida resident now, and intend on applying to Florida schools as well as Emory and Mercer in GA. Hypothetically, what would happen if I were to get an education at the University of Miami then move to NYC?

FordSVTFan

Oh, the humanity of it all.
Established Member
Nothing. As long as the school is ABA accredited, you can take the bar anywhere. But you need to graduate college first. Law Schools will only consider you for the semester after your senior year. So unless you are going to be a senior in the fall, your application will not be any good. Plus you need to take the LSATs.

PSI87

Banned
I should be a senior fall if all goes according to plan. :fingers crossed: I plan on taking the LSAT and GRE later this year. It is comforting knowing theres no significance in the location of the school, thanks a lot Adam.

Duende

Thomas @ AppOSL.com
Established Member
Wish I'd taken that route. 26 with no college under my belt, eh, I'm a little too far behind now.

Time to work for a living.

FordSVTFan

Established Member
Duende said:
Wish I'd taken that route. 26 with no college under my belt, eh, I'm a little too far behind now.

Time to work for a living.

Not true. I have a female friend who never went to college and became a paramedic. She entered college at 25 and medical school at 29, finished her residency at 36. And is now a very successful physician at 38.

It is never too late to get a degree. My aunt just told me today she went back to college to finish her bachelors degree and she is 59.

FordSVTFan

Established Member
PSI87 said: