Issues with Kenne Bell?

Nbrac27

Established Member
So im new to the twin screw world coming from, turboed awd imports, and am curious why it seems like theres a general disdain for KB superchargers. I know whipple is huge and VMP is as well, but is there an actual issue with KB? Im looking at their 2.8 and it seems to be a good deal price wise for the performance output. I know KB was huge back when the terminators were first released but now it seems almost no one uses their blowers for our cars?

Am i completely wrong here or is there huge quality difference between KB and whipple or VMP?

TK1299

Meh
Established Member
Premium Member
Kenne Bells are known for generating a lot of heat and thier customer service is no bueno.
I have a Kenne Bell on one of my Cobras and I like it, but that puppy gets hot, even with meth injection to help cool it.

Nbrac27

Established Member
Ohh okay well thats good to know. So then for say an every other day type driver that will see occasional track use not be a good idea for something like a KB? Im stationed in El Paso currently and the average temperature for about 9 months of the year is 95 degrees -__-

TK1299

Meh
Established Member
Premium Member
There are guys on here who have them and I'm sure have had no problems with them. They make comparable power, but I don't think they are quite as efficient as a TVS. That being said, I purchased a Whipple for my Terminator, but then decided to go KB and bought one of those. After more reading I sold both of them and have a brand new TVS in the box in my garage waiting to go on. But I'm sure if I installed the KB I would be just as happy. But the kind of driving I do is just to amuse myself

D-MANN

Established Member